The Royal College of Music MMus Opera Scenes | 3rd February 2017

During the first few weeks of the spring term, RCM puts on public performances of a selection of scenes from various well known operas. On the 3rd of February, with my colleagues from MMus 1 & 2, we performed favourite scenes from Flotow’s MarthaThe Cunning Little Vixen by Janáček, Britten’s The Turn of the ScrewThe Bartered Bride by Smetana, Donizetti’s L’elisir d’amore, Mozart’s Don Giovanni and Idomeneo and Rossini’s La Cenerentola.

I am always eager to improve my craft onstage so I was delighted to find that as well as my main role of Clorinda in La Cenerentola, I would also be performing in The Cunning Little Vixen as the Forester’s wife. Although not a singing role, I found it to be most beneficial as I wasn’t able to rely on the emotion found through singing to strengthen the character. It was also delightful to be able to perform some Britten in my first RCM opera scenes since the Britten Theatre itself turned 30 just a couple of months ago. (click below)

Rossini’s La Cenerentola was chosen as the last scene which I think is quite fitting considering our costumes, actions and the music were rather hysterical. My colleagues, Christian Adolph, Rosanna Cooper and Elspeth Marrow played Alidoro, Cenerentola (Angelina) and Tisbe respectively and they were all wonderful. Apart from being lovely people, whose ideas sparked inspiration for my character, their beautifully rich voices were such a treat to work with and it allowed me to enjoy my performance even more knowing that we all supported and appreciated each other’s work. Over those weekly rehearsals our relationships became closer which meant that during the performance, when a couple complicated directions went awry, we sensed it and moved together spontaneously.

Thanks to my scantily clad costume and the constant positivity, patience and humour of our incredibly talented director, Elaine Kidd; I found confidence in my body and performance. Hearing the audience snigger within seconds, feeling their energy and knowing that our wonderfully helpful conductor, Natalie Murray was there to keep us afloat reminded me how much love and joy singing brings me. I also would love to thank our repetiteur Chad Vindin, who brought such skill, kindness and cheerfulness to the entire process.

oie_transparent

One thought on “The Royal College of Music MMus Opera Scenes | 3rd February 2017

Leave a comment